"We have an advertising relationship with the stores we link to in this post"

5th Annual HERO AwardsOn May 17, 2011 The Stonewall Young Democrats (SYD), announced that the Honorable Betty Yee as the Honorary Awards Chairwoman and MadTV’s Debra Wilson as the Mistress of Ceremonies of  the 5th Annual HERO Awards to be held on August 20, 2011 at the Sheraton Gateway LAX located at 6101 West Century Boulevard in
Los Angeles, CA 90045 from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm.
Shop Blackberry at AT&T
The Honorable Betty Yee has served as a Member and Chairwoman of the Board of Equalization, the only elected tax commission in the nation. She is the former Chief Deputy Director for Budget with the California Department of Finance where she led the development of the Governor’s Budget, negotiations with the Legislature and key budget stakeholders, and fiscal analyses of legislation on behalf of the Administration. Betty Yee is a native of San Francisco.

Comedienne and actress Debra Wilson was the third longest-serving original cast member on the sketch comedy series MADtv, having appeared for the show’s first eight seasons. She has also done voice work for the animated series American Dad!Family GuyThe Proud Family, and many others. Debra Wilson has also made many independent films, including Jane White is Sick and Twisted, Sink Deep and Soul Mates. Debra Wilson is a strong ally of the LGBT Community and supports Marriage Equality.

5th Annual HERO Awards 2011The following individuals will be honored at the event: American Actress Candis Cayne (ABC’s Dirty Sexy Money), Hon. Mark Leno, California State Senator, Hon. Donna Groman, LA Superior Court Judge and Hon. Anthony Portantino, California State Assembly-member.

5th Annual HERO Awards 2011 Celebrities
Some of the celebrity guests expected to attend are: Carolyn Hennesy (Actress), Sara Rue (Actress), Syesha Mercado (Singer, American Idol), Yvette Yates (Actress), Phoebe Price (Actress), Louis Van Amstel (ABC’s Dancing w/the Stars), Jesse Garcia (Actor) and Gloria Bigelow (Comedian & LOGO TV).

To attend the event, you can purchase your tickets for under 36 yrs: $25.00 and 36 yrs and over: $40.00 at http://stonewallyoungdems.org/heroes/sponsor-us

About The HERO Awards:

The Annual HERO Awards, now in its fifth year, recognizes individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of the rights of the LGBT Community. Past recipients include: Congresswoman Judy Chu, Maria Elena Durazo, Karina Samala, Fmr. Congresswoman/US Ambassador Diane E. Watson, West Hollywood City Council Member Jeffrey Prang and Jorge Valencia. For more information visit http://stonewallyoungdems.org/heroes

About SYD: Founded in 2004, Stonewall Young Democrats is a community of dedicated youth passionate about political and societal issues. They strive to give voice to LGBTQ youth and take action in a grassroots manner on matters of both local and national significance. For more information visit www.stonewallyoungdems.org

Photos credit to:  The Stonewall Young Democrats
Source:  The Stonewall Young Democrats 
Shop Andrew Christan
Editor’s Note: Our publication Diversity News Magazine, published by Diversity News Publications is a proud sponsor of the 2011 5th Annual HERO Awards. We want to congratulate all the Honorees.

These Story Posting Is Sponsored in part By: Wild Beauty Skin Care

Wild Beauty

"This post contains affiliate links and we'll earn a commission if you shop through them".

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.